Copperopolis CA Area Overview
Copperopolis’ claim to fame is not gold, but copper. It was founded in 1860 by William K. Reed, Dr. Allen Blatchly, and Thomas McCarty, at the site of the second major discovery of copper ore in the region.
After the Civil War ended, mining and shipping copper proved too expensive and the population dwindled as the mines closed. A Boston company purchased the mines in the 1880s and mining operations resumed. The town went through boom periods during the two World Wars, but the mines finally closed in 1946.
The Square at Copper Valley has been reborn, designed around a traditional town square with timeless architecture and covered walkways. It features a blend of specialty boutique shops, great restaurants, residential lofts and hosts many festivals and events throughout the year.
Copperopolis is home to Lake Tulloch offering fishing, boating and water sports year-round, along with Saddle Creek Resort – an 18-hole championship, public-golf course with restaurant, bar, pro-shop and wine cellar.
Photo credit: GoCalaveras.com